A weekend in Rome

When life gives you random opportunities to act upon, I heavily believe you should, err, seize the bull by its horns and jump upon it (what an opening statement). And this is exactly what happened not long ago.

Whilst in New York last year, I made a new friend, who in the space of less than 48hrs proposed to me (quite literally, despite being in a relationship), whilst hanging out in the most amazing open air bar overlooking the Brooklyn bridge (random and romantic enough for you?).

September 2013

September 2013

Those 48hrs were all we had, but it seemed that we’d known each other forever.

So when she told me she was making her lifelong dream of travelling around Italy come true, something clicked in my head, and I knew I had to go join her for a small leg of her trip.

Some whatsapp messages, minor planning, expensive flight tickets and hostel arrangements later, it was exciting to think I was going to spend Easter weekend in Rome. And the added bonus? I managed to catch another friend during my layover in Munich airport – winning.

So what did I do in Rome?

I kind of saw the pope during his Good Friday open-air mass (his holy tent was hidden by a tree); I took way too many cab rides; I visited the Colosseum during the worst weather ever (and sorry, not sorry for the weather pun, but I was blown away); I climbed Palatine hill and was full of awe; I saw the Vatican by accident (‘omg, is this St. Peter square?’); I spoke way too much New York English; I spilled my heart to lovely strangers; I ended up at an Easter Sunday mass afterparty in Vatican City, where I drank wine and prosecco with priests (movie moment right thurr); I ate the most delicious gelato; I allowed myself to be surprised by the city. Bref – I wholeheartedly lived in the moment, taking in as much as I could, whilst thinking about how beautiful life is. But I reckon the pictures below will give a better insight of this.

Night time tourism

Night time tourism

The Colosseum

The Colosseum

My tastebuds vs. America - I tasted salty bretzels with nutella

My tastebuds vs. America – I tried salty bretzels with Nutella

The moody sky above Palatine hill

The moody sky above Palatine hill

Viewpoint on Palatine hill

Viewpoint on Palatine hill

Vatican city

Vatican city

An afterparty in a residential area of Vatican city

An afterparty in a residential area of Vatican city

Gelato, dipped in white or dark chocolate

Gelato, dipped in white and dark chocolate

The whole weekend was a dream. It involved very little sleep, a lot of Aperol Spritz, overindulging in pizza, and lots of new random people, without whom I cannot quite picture my life anymore.

Even though it was just a mere weekend, I felt exactly the same upon leaving Rome as I did after it was time to finish my travels in the States – heartbroken.

They say all good things come to an end, and it was definitely the case.

But hey, we say good bye to meet again. We leave to come back. We have experiences like this to motivate ourselves to work, and then do it all over again.

This year I vow to live for the weekend trips, and to save money for grand adventures, somewhere on the other side of the world.

2 comments
  1. Akriti said:

    This is such an awesome post :)

Leave a Reply

