FebrEstonia

My newly adopted corporate lifestyle has seen me ponder incessantly over the notion of time, as when it comes to professional deadlines and my personal life, it seems to simultaneously drag and run, in whichever manner is the most inconvenient at that exact moment in time.

And it is during exactly one of those ruminating sessions that I realised – scheiße! It’s already been a month since I was in Estonia. I’ve yet to figure out whether I’m shocked because a) it feels like yesterday that I was there, or b) I’ve not had time to think about anything else apart excel sheets and take away coffee.

This trip was unexpected, very last minute and loosely planned, but it ended up being a marvellous one nevertheless (perhaps minus the part where I’m pretty sure I fractured my elbow during Independence day, and I still haven’t had time to go to the doctor. See what I mean about time?).

Every time I fly to Tallinn, the anticipation builds the closer I get to the city. The more I spotted Estonians, the more nervous I got as again, it had been two years since I last went back.

I spent my first four days in the capital, hanging out in cosy hipster cafés, shopping, meeting up with old friends and spending time with family.

For occasions where, you know, you might want a magnifying glass whilst grocery shopping.

For occasions where, you know, you might want a magnifying glass whilst grocery shopping.

Oh, and randomly getting retweeted by the president (hashtag whuut).

One thing that is rather new for me is how many of my friends have gotten children. Whilst it is a perfectly normal, natural phenomenon (enabling me to become aunty Laura), it is always a bit bizarre when it starts happening to your friends. Why bizarre? Probably because despite my twentysomething status, I still feel exactly the same as I felt in school (with the exception that society allows me to drive a car, and I now have to pay taxes), and no one really got pregnant in school.

My journey continued to Tartu, my home city, my hood, where I spent four delicious days playing with my uncle’s children and celebrating one of their birthdays.

Going to Tartu is always heartwarming, because it is where I was born and I thus consider it the most beautiful city in Estonia (as you can see, I am very objective and totally unbiased). It also gives me the opportunity to meet up with childhood friends, that have stuck around despite me barely having lived in Estonia, and to disconnect from my usual day-to-day life. There’s just something about Tartu that makes me forget everything outside of the city’s limits; it’s calm, bohemic, full of friendly people and cool hangout spots.

Beautiful, beautiful Tartu

Beautiful, beautiful Tartu

Returning to Luxembourg was hard, as it meant saying bye to loved ones and coming back to the obligations of daily life, but every good thing ends some point, and leaves us with beautiful memories (except in Eat, Pray & Love it seems – that woman hit the jackpot!).

In addition to the beautiful intangible memories (and the tangible ones I acquired through shopping – sorry, credit card!), I grabbed an additional memory from the airport. As a brilliant initiative, they have created a small library corner consisting of donated books, and travellers are welcome to take a book and read it until their flight starts boarding, or booknap it and return it at a later date, should they have the opportunity to return to Tallinn Airport.

The stamp reads: "Write in this book your thoughts, something for the next reader, or the place this book travelled to with you. Enjoy your trip!"

The stamp reads: “Write in this book your thoughts, something for the next reader, or the place this book travelled to with you. Enjoy your trip!”

Only in Estonia!

Leave a Reply

